Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


LOOK: Solange Partners With Dev Hynes, Chris Taylor To Release “TRUE” EP

By Staff on November 2, 2012


LOOK: Solange Partners With Dev Hynes, Chris Taylor To Release “TRUE” EP

After catching the eyes and ears of R & B tastemakers earlier this year with her acclaimed “Losing You” video (see the Melina Matsoukos–directed video below), Solange Knowles announced that her upcoming EP TRUE will debut via Ethan Silverman and Grizzly Bear's Chris Taylor's Terrible Records.

Solange—better known as Beyoncé’s little sister—collaborated with rock experimentalist Dev Hynes (Test Icicles, Lightspeed Champion, Blood Orange) to write and produce TRUE. The two met in 2010 and first worked together on Theophilus London’s mid-tempo bumper “Flying Overseas.” “Losing You,” TRUE’s lead single, has so far received well-deserved hype for its clever integration of pop, funk, hip-hop and chillwave. 

Grizzly Bear bassist/producer Chris Taylor contributed additional mixing to TRUE, which helps explain the record’s slick production value. The EP will be available digitally on November 27; check out the tracklisting, album artwork and video for "Losing You" below.

TRUE tracklisting

1. Losing You
2. Some Things Never Seem To Fucking Work
3. Locked In Closets
4. Lovers In The Parking Lot
5. Don't Let Me Down
6. Look Good With Trouble
7. Bad Girls (Verdine Version)


<< Newer Post  Older Post >>