Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


LOOK: Mount Eerie Reveals “Ocean Roar” LP Details

By Staff on June 14, 2012


LOOK: Mount Eerie Reveals “Ocean Roar” LP Details

Phil Eleverum, the mastermind behind Mount Eerie and the defunct Microphones, has announced the details of the his second LP of 2012, and sonic partner to May's Clear Moon. In our interview with Elverum from FILTER 48, the musician described the anticipated Ocean Roar thusly:

"All of these songs [from both albums] were recorded at the same time, but I didn’t want to make a double album. It’s just too hard to listen to a double album. [Laughs.] It’s too much to take in. The feeling I was trying to create [with Ocean Roar] is like total fog bank. Like you’re getting buried under so much. The opposite of Clear Moon, the opposite of sharp clarity—a blanket of fuzz. That’s the idea. [The albums] go together in an abstract way, but I want them to be linked because both of them are focused heavy on the one aspect of the idea, and I feel like it’s more interesting when two aspects of the same idea are represented."

Ocean Roar will arrive September 4 via Elverum's own label, P.W. Elverum and Sun.

Below, check out a brief excerpt from the album, "Pale Lights," and the full track listing of Ocean Roar, along with some Pacific Northwest Mount Eerie tour dates.

Ocean Roar track list

1. Pale Lights
2. Ocean Roar
3. Ancient Times
4. instrumental
5. Waves
6. Engel Der Luft (Popol Vuh)
7. I Walked Home Beholding
8. instrumental



Mount Eerie tour dates

17 Olympia, WA - Northern 414 1/2 Legion Way
18 Portland, OR - 4321 SE Hawthorne (2 shows, early & late) 
19 Portland, OR - Valentine's
20 Seattle, WA - 20/20 Cycle (2 shows, early & late) 
21 Vancouver, BC - Rickshaw Theatre
22 Nanaimo, BC - TBA
23 Victoria, BC - The Fifty Fifty
24 Bellingham, WA - Make.Shift Art Space

13–15 Anacortes, WA - 1st Anacortes Unknown Music Series

24–26 Rochester, WA - Helsing Junction Sleepover

<< Newer Post  Older Post >>