Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


LOOK: Deerhunter Announces Fifth Album “Monomania” + New Lineup

By Staff; photo by Robert Semmer on March 22, 2013


LOOK: Deerhunter Announces Fifth Album “Monomania” + New Lineup

Attention Deerhunter enthusiasts: Bradford Cox and the crew are back with their fifth album. Monomania, the follow-up to 2010’s critically acclaimed Halcyon Digest, is set to release on May 7 via 4AD. According to the jumbled and bizarrely phrased press release, Monomania, a “Mystery disc of NOCTURNAL GARAGE,” is “avant garde(?) but only in context not form.” Confused? So are we.

The announcement also included a new lineup. Deerhunter has expanded to a five-piece, with Frankie Broyles now on guitar and bassist Josh McKay replacing Joshua Fauver. Gather what you can about Monomania from the track list and lineup below.

Monomania track list:

01. Neon Junkyard
02. Leather Jacket II
03. The Missing
04. Pensacola
05. Dream Captain
06. Blue Agent
07. T.H.M.
08. Sleepwalking
09. Back To The Middle
10. Monomania
11. Nitebike
12. Punk (La Vie Antérieure)

Lineup (via press release):

Bradford Cox: Vocals, Rat Tapes, Fog Machine, Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Treatments, Percussions, Melody Bass on Final Track, Microphone Placement, Typesetting.

Lockett James Pundt IV: Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Vocals on 'The Missing', Synthesizer, Percussions, Laser Focus, Neons.

Moses Archuleta: The Drumset, Videos, Percussions, Decorations.

Frankie Broyles: Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Steel Guitar on 'Pensacola'

Josh Mckay: The Electric Bass, Wurlitzer, Transistor Organ

<< Newer Post  Older Post >>