Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


First Impressions: Tobacco, “Maniac Meat”

By Daniel Kohn on March 25, 2010


First Impressions: Tobacco, “Maniac Meat”


Maniac Meat


Release Date: 5/25 




01. Constellation Dirtbike Head

02. Fresh Hex (feat. Beck)

03. Mexican Icecream

04. Lick The Witch

05. Sweatmother

06. Motorlicker

07. Unholy Demon Rhythms

08. Heavy Makeup

09. Grape Aerosmith (feat. Beck)

10. New Juices From The Hot Tub Freaks

11. Six Royal Vipers

12. Overheater

13. Creepy Phone Calls

14. TV All Greasy

15. Stretch Your Face

16. Nuclear Waste Aerobics



First Impressions:


-Maniac Meat is the sophomore release from Tobacco, the side/solo project of Black Moth Super Rainbow frontman Tom Fec. Like its predecessor, the only live instruments present are drums and bass.  


-“Fresh Hex” is the first of two tracks featuring Beck. The track sounds has synthesizers like an old Atari videogame. 


-The tempo picks up a bit on “Motorlicker.” Though it features many of the same characteristics of the earlier tracks, this track has a dark, cyncial vibe that could have been the underscore for Party Monster.


-The title“Unholy Demon Rhythms” is the perfect way to describe the accompanying music. It sounds, well, demonic. This would be a song that could introduce The Lord of Darkness character from Legend.


-“Six Royal Vipers” is a down-tempo hip-hop track with some dance elements. The sound seems to be influenced heavily by early Portishead.



Key Tracks:

"Fresh Hex”, “Motorlicker,” Unholy Demon Rhythms,” “Six Royal Vipers.”




If you like freaky, edgy music, then Maniac Meat is the album for you. Though not quite Animal Collective nor Lou Reed’s Metal Machine Music, this record has a sinister vibe and Fec isn't afraid to take chances by experimenting with different types of instruments and sounds.  

<< Newer Post  Older Post >>