Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


FIRST IMPRESSIONS: The Kills, “Blood Pressures”

By Clare R. Lopez on February 10, 2011


FIRST IMPRESSIONS: The Kills, “Blood Pressures”

The Kills
Blood Pressures
Release Date: April 5, 2011


1. Future Starts Slow
2. Satellite
3. Heart is a Beating Drum
4. Nail In My Coffin
5. Wild Charms
6. DNA
7. Baby Says
8. Last Goodbye
9. Damned If She Do
10. You Don't Own the Road
11. Pots and Pans

First Impressions:

- Three years after Midnight Boom, and Alison Mosshart's stint with the Dead Weather, The Kills have breathed life into a new album—Blood Pressures. Self-produced by the duo's Jamie Hince, the album will be out April 5th on Domino.

- While "Satellite" showcases The Kills' signature gritty guitars, the beat is a slow and steady one that calls attention to everything else at work, especially the backing vocals sporadically chanting "ooh" over it all. The track will be released as Blood Pressures' first single on March 28th, but you can stream it here right now.

- There is an undeniably aggressive current flowing through the bands' earlier work, which was a key part of their appeal. Even though this record places much less importance on the in-your-face attitude, the music remains assertive and confident.

- If you've ever dreamed of Mosshart laying all the cards on the table like Adele, your wish comes true on "Last Goodbye." With prominent piano, vocals and lyrics, like "I can't rely/On a dime-a-day low/That don't go anywhere," the ballad finds Mosshart at her most defeated.

Key Tracks:

"Future Starts Slow," "Heart is a Beating Drum," "Baby Says," "Last Goodbye"


Blood Pressures bears many of The Kills' stylistic marks, but the music's tone is what makes it an album worth listening to. While fans will probably enjoy the chance to finally listen to new material, the casual Kills listener might wonder whether they've pushed their sound so far into new territory.

<< Newer Post  Older Post >>