Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Grieves, “Together/Apart”

By Geneva Perezcastaneda on June 7, 2011


FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Grieves, “Together/Apart”

Release Date: June 21, 2011

01. Lightspeed
02. Bloody Poetry
03. Falling From You
04. On The Rocks
05. Sunny Side Of Hell
06. Tragic
07. Boogie Man
08. Pressure Cracks
09. No Matter What
10. Vice Grip
11. Heartbreak Hotel
12. Speak Easy
13. Prize Fighter
14. Wild Thing
15. Growing Pains
16. Against The Bottom

First Impressions:

-A year after the re-release of 88 Keys and Counting, Grieves got together with producer Budo to create his Rhymesayers debut Together/Apart out June 21. Recording from New York to Colorado, Grieves stays true to the Rhymesayers tradition of compiling strong narratives.

-The opener "Lightspeed" starts the album off with an autobiography from Grieves about his life and his past, backed by a slow steady beat. This song sets up the feel for the narrative throughout the album.

-Grieves takes you on a journey through his confessionals of heart break, family, addictions, love and down and out times in his life. Songs like "Heartbreak Hotel" and "Pressure Cracks" will have you slowly falling down the cracks of Grieves thoughts with a soft mixed beat backed by smooth percussions.

-Budo and Grieves find a way to mix multiple instruments in a few of the songs on the album. "Speak Easy" gives a solid mix of guitar, keyboards and piano instrumental.

-For his Rhymesayers debut, Grieves gives all of himself in his rhymes. He takes you from the bottom to the top of who he is and who he's been the last couple years. With a solid mix of instruments and solid rhythms throughout the album, Grieves and Budo put their fine efforts into production on the album.

Key Tracks:

"Bloody Poetry" and "On The Rocks"


Grieves definitely creates a solid narrative through the album, but one that is a serious confessional. The album makes for a good follow up to 88 Key and Counting, but make sure to take the rhymes with an open mind and not fall too far into the depths of Grieves' obvious past hardships and heartbreaks. The rhymes can be familiar to a lot of people, but not to sink you into depression, but to inspire growth and change.    

Pre-order Grieves' Rhymesayers debut, Together/Apart  Here.

<< Newer Post  Older Post >>