Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


FILTER’s Top 10 of 2010: Young Galaxy

By Staff on December 9, 2010


FILTER’s Top 10 of 2010: Young Galaxy

Ah, the end of yet another fantastic year in music. 2010 was good to us, no doubt about it, and once again we find ourselves on the other side, having made it through a near-endless array of albums—from Teen Dreams to Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasies—all the better for it. Now comes the time when we sit back, plug in and reflect on the musical months in reverse. And as much as we love to put together our own best-of lists, we consider the bands themselves a far more fascinating glimpse at the sounds of 2010. Reaching out to some of our favorites, here FILTER presents a series of artists’ best-ofs running throughout the month of December. We've put in our own two cents on the Top 10 Records of 2010, so be sure to check those out, but for now we’ll turn it over to some of the artists who continue to make every year a highlight. 

Canadian act Young Galaxy features the moody, driving vocals of Stephen Ramsay (formerly the touring guitarist of of Stars) and Catherine McCandless, who released their debut  on Great White North staple Arts & Crafts in 2007 and subsequently took on labelmate Stars' "Calendar Girl" on the remix album Do You Trust Your Friends? the same year. Two years later, they picked up bassist Stephen Kamp and Max Henry and self-released Invisible Republic, which was eventually put out in the States on Paper Bag in 2010 and longlisted for the Polaris Music Prize. The band has plans to continue on in 2011, already set for its third album—titled Shapeshifting—which is produced by Balearic-beat master Dan Lissvik (of Studio) and will be released in February. Below are the band's pick's for best songs of 2010.

Young Galaxy's Picks

"Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)" by Arcade Fire, from The Suburbs (MERGE)

"Dancing On My Own" and "Hang With Me" by Robyn, from Body Talk, Pts. 1 and 2 (KONICHIWA)

"Albatross" by The Besnard Lakes, from The Besnard Lakes Are the Roaring Night (JAGJAGUWAR)

"Lovesick" by Lindstrøm & Christabelle, from Real Life Is No Cool (FEEDELITY)

"Lucio" by Luca C & Brigante, from the single (DOUBLE DROP)

"Honey Mine (ft. Victoria Bergsman)" by Korallreven, from the single (ACÉPHALE)

"It's Choade My Dear" by Connan Mockasin, from Please Turn Me Into the Snat (PHANTASY SOUND) 

"Heaven's On Fire" by The Radio Dept., from Clinging to a Scheme (LABRADOR)

"Blue Gowns" by Blue Hawaii, from Blooming Summer (ARBUTUS)

“Dance Yrself Clean” by LCD Soundsystem, from This Is Happening (DFA/VIRGIN)


<< Newer Post  Older Post >>