Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


FILTER’s Top 10 of 2010: Nis Svoldgaard, of Oh No Ono

By Staff on December 14, 2010


FILTER’s Top 10 of 2010: Nis Svoldgaard, of Oh No Ono

Ah, the end of yet another fantastic year in music. 2010 was good to us, no doubt about it, and once again we find ourselves on the other side, having made it through a near-endless array of albums—from Teen Dreams to Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasies—all the better for it. Now comes the time when we sit back, plug in and reflect on the musical months in reverse. And as much as we love to put together our own best-of lists, we consider the bands themselves a far more fascinating glimpse at the sounds of 2010. Reaching out to some of our favorites, here FILTER presents a series of artists’ best-ofs running throughout the month of December. We've put in our own two cents on the Top 10 Records of 2010, so be sure to check those out, but for now we’ll turn it over to some of the artists who continue to make every year a highlight.

Consciously spastic and perpetually joyous quartet Oh No Ono released their third record this year, the otherworldly pop-xplosive Eggs, which was recorded in a variety of unusual recording spaces throughout their native Denmark. During the summer, a number of notable names (CaribouEfterklangThe Phenomenal Handclap Band) lent their remixes to Oh No Ono’s singles, further showcasing the band’s eccentric and excitingly strange tunes. Last week, the band picked up a Grammy nom for Best Recording Package (aka "nice artwork, guys"). Check out the international offering for best of 2010 from Nis Svoldgaard below.

Nis Svoldgaard's Picks

1. Tame Impala, InnerSpeaker (MODULAR)

2. Beach House, Teen Dream (SUB POP)

3. Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, Before Today (4AD)

4. Wavves, King of the Beach (FAT POSSUM)

5. Shout Wellington Air Force, Clean Sunset (MORNINGSIDE)

6. No Age, Everything in Between (SUB POP)

7. Treefight For Sunlight, A Collection of Vibrations for Your Skull (TAMBOUR RHINOCEROS)

8. Animal Collective, Oddsac [soundtrack] (DOMINO)

9. Deerhunter, Halcyon Digest (4AD)

10. 4 Guys from the Future, Under the New Morning Sun (TAMBOUR RHINOCEROS)


<< Newer Post  Older Post >>