Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


WATCH: Damon Albarn Takes Apart His Brain For “Everyday Robots” Video, Announces New Album

By Staff; video directed by Aitor Throup on January 21, 2014



Having established himself as a musician by leading the reins of Blur and Gorillaz, Damon Albarn has announced the release of his first solo-album, Everyday Robots. This weekend, Albarn premiered the video for the album’s single under the same title and we have to admit that we’re pretty excited about it.

Everyday Robots will be a more openly personal extension of Albarn and his life experiences thus far, but will still carry the familiar flavor of what we’ve previously heard from him. Guest appearances from Brian Eno and Natasha Khan (Bat For Lashes) will round out the album. 


For the title track video, Albarn teamed up with artist and designer Aitor Throup, who conceptualized the single and album artwork as well. The four-minute accompaniment features actual cranial scans and facial reconstruction techniques to recreate Albarn’s head. Thoughtful lyricism croons over a steady bassline and guides the CGI clips as they rotate and magnify in time with the single’s tempo. 


After watching the video above, check the track list below. Be sure to snag your own copy of Everyday Robots on April 29.


Everyday Robots track list

01. Everyday Robots

02. Hostiles

03. Lonely Press Play

04. Mr Tembo

05. Parakeet

06. The Selfish Giant

07. You And Me

08. Hollow Ponds

09. Seven High

10. Photographs (You Are Taking Now)

11. The History Of A Cheating Heart

12. Heavy Seas Of Love


<< Newer Post  Older Post >>