Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


LISTEN: Spoon Reveals “Rent I Pay,” Off Of New LP

By Staff on June 10, 2014



After a four-year hiatus and a couple of weeks hinting at something with the initials "R.I.P." (via socials), Spoon is back with an upcoming album, a major tour and now a new track: "Rent I Pay."


With a straightforward beat and driving guitar (and organ!) lines, "Rent I Pay" is a track that succeeds because of frontman Britt Daniel's lyrics and vocals—both entirely focused on the anguish and frustration of having no real control, or grasp, on your own life. Daniel is only asking for peace within the song, but all he gets are blocked desires and reminders about his debts in life.


Pretty fitting themes for a first single off of an album entitled They Want My Soul (out August 5th via Loma Vista).


They Want My Soul track listing

01. Rent I Pay
02. Inside Out
03. Rainy Taxi
04. Do You
05. Knock Knock Knock
06. Outlier
07. They Want My Soul
08. I Just Don't Understand
09. Let Me Be Mine
10. New York Kiss

<< Newer Post  Older Post >>