Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


LISTEN: Getting Spiritual With Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ “Sacrilege”

By Staff on February 26, 2013


LISTEN: Getting Spiritual With Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ “Sacrilege”


Ever since the Yeah Yeah Yeahs released their interesting album art for Mosquito in January, we've eagerly been waiting to hear what they have in store for their fourth LP. Finally, the trio released their first single "Sacrilege" and it's a good one, complete with a gospel choir to amp up this spiritual experience. Mosquito is due out April 16 via Interscope Records.


The track keeps true to the sound that we have come to expect from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs; Karen O's high cries and yelps are featured throughout the song along with Nick Zinner's guitar riffs. The song's greatest point is when the 24-piece gospel choir backs Karen O's pleas at the end of the song. It harmonizes and blends well, adding an unexpected element that makes the track truly great.


Take a listen for yourself below, along with the tracklist for Mosquito!



Mosquito track list:


1. Sacrilege
2. Subway
3. Mosquito
4. Under the Earth
5. Slave
6. These Paths
7. Area 52
8. Buried Alive (feat. Dr. Octagon)
9. Always
10. Despair
11. Wedding Song


<< Newer Post  Older Post >>