Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


LISTEN: Depeche Mode Reach Transcendence In “Heaven” Through Stern Synthpop

By Staff on January 31, 2013


LISTEN: Depeche Mode Reach Transcendence In “Heaven” Through Stern Synthpop


Though it's tough to pick favorites amongst Depeche Mode's overwhelmingly badass 12-album discography, there is that undeniable lingering quality in 1990 anthem, "Enjoy The Silence," that manages to shout out, "pick me!" Unfortunately, the more we heed the advice of that track's title, the more we anxiously anticipate a follow-up to 2009's Sounds of the Universe.


Today, it is time to blast some new New Wave, dubbed "Heaven": the first single off the electronic three-piece's forthcoming studio album, Delta Machine, available March 26 via Columbia Records.

Premiered via KROQ, this track is precisely what you'd predict DM's idea of heaven to be like: both grand and gloomy, that sinister element pretty difficult to shake when paired so perfectly with synth. 


Delta Machine tracklist

01. Welcome To My World
02. Angel
03. Heaven
04. Secret To The End
05. My Little Universe
06. Slow
07. Broken
08. The Child Inside
09. Soft Touch / Raw Nerve
10. Should Be Higher
11. Alone
12. Soothe My Soul
13. Goodbye

The deluxe edition includes the standard tracklist (above) on disk 1, a hardcover 28-page booklet, as well as this tracklist for disk 2:

01. Long Time Lie
02. Happens All The Time
03. Always
04. All That’s Mine


The proper way to "Enjoy The Silence":



<< Newer Post  Older Post >>