Sign Up for FILTER Newsletters


LISTEN: Austra Announces “Habitat” EP; Shares New Music

By Staff on May 7, 2014




Toronto-based 4-piece Austra have a new EP, Habitat, coming out on June 17th (via Domino). The 4-track EP features the title track along with 3 instrumental tracks. “Habitat” was so popular with fans when the band played it live, that the group decided to make a proper recording of it.


“'Habitat' is an old song that we've waited almost three years to release… so we decided to finally put it out as a single along with 3 new instrumental tracks,” says lead singer Katie Stelmanis. Stelmanis's voice on the track is instantly remniscent of Florence Welch, but with a harder electronic edge-- it's a "Euro style computer music experiment," in the band's own words.


Check out the tracklisting for the new EP and their upcoming tour dates below!

Habitat EP tracklisting:

1. Habitat
2. Doepfer
3. Bass Drum Dance
4. Hulluu

Austra tour dates:

24 - George, WA - Sasquatch Festival

07 - Toronto, ON - Field Trip Festival
21 - Ottawa, ON - Ottawa Jazz Festival

03 - Arosa, ES - Festival Do Norte Isla De Arosa
05 - La Geltru, ES - Vida Festival Vilanova I
10 - London, UK - Oval Space
11 - Liege, BE - Les Ardentes Music Festival
14 - Bruges, BE - Cactus Festival
19 - Chiaverano, IT - A Night Like This Festival

09 - Squamish, BC - Squamish Festival
05 - Berlin, DE - Festival Berlin

<< Newer Post  Older Post >>